Latest NewsNewsTFT News

Typhoon ‘Quinta’ to leave Philippines by morning of October 27

Authorities expect Typhoon Quinta to leave the Philippine Area of Responsbility tomorrow, Tuesday October 27 as it moves west-northwestward away from the country.

Reports from the Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) forecast Quinta to re-intensify and may reach its peak intensity within 24 to 48 hours.

As of posting time, residents can expect moderate to heavy with at times intense rains will continue over Occidental Mindoro, Oriental Mindoro, Romblon, Marinduque, northern Palawan including Calamian and Cuyo Islands, Calabarzon, Aurora, Isabela, Quirino, Mountain Province, Ifugao, Benguet, Aklan, Capiz, and Antique.

RELATED STORY: 12 missing, over 9,000 residents affected due to Typhoon ‘Quinta’ – NDRRMC

Moderate to heavy rains will also continue over Cagayan, Apayao, Kalinga, Abra, Ilocos Norte, and Ilocos Sur, due to the tail-end of a frontal system.

Metro Manila, Western Visayas, Zamboanga Peninsula, BARMM, Northern Mindanao, Caraga, and the rest of Luzon, will continue to experience light to moderate with at times heavy rains caused by the two weather systems.

Quinta currently packs maximum sustained winds of 125 kilometers per hour near the center, and gustiness of up to 150 kph. It was last tracked 125 km north of Coron, Palawan, or 120 km west southwest of Calapan City, Oriental Mindoro, moving westward at 25 kph.

Tropical Cyclone Wind Signal (TCWS) No. 3 is hoisted over the northwestern portion of Occidental Mindoro (Abra de Ilog, Mamburao, Paluan) including Lubang Island.

Oriental Mindoro, the rest of Occidental Mindoro, Calamian Islands, Batangas, and the extreme northern portion of Antique (Caluya) remain under Signal No. 2.

The southern portion of Zambales (San Antonio, Castillejos, Subic, Olongapo City), Bataan, the southwestern portion of Pampanga (Floridablanca, Lubao, Sasmuan, Masantol), the southwestern portion of Bulacan (Hagonoy, Paombong, Malolos City, Bulacan, Obando, Meycauayan City), Metro Manila, Rizal, Cavite, Laguna, Quezon including Polillo Islands, Marinduque, Romblon, and the northern portion of Palawan (El Nido, Taytay) including Cuyo Islands, Aklan, and the rest of the northern portion of Antique (Laua-An, Barbaza, Tibiao, Culasi, Sebaste, Pandan, Libertad), are under Signal No. 1.

Rough to high seas will be experienced over the seaboards of areas under TCWS.

Staff Report

The Filipino Times is the chronicler of stories for, of and by Filipinos all over the world, reaching more than 236 countries in readership. Any interesting story to share? Email us at [email protected]

Related Articles

Back to top button