12 PH senators proclaimed

After delays that stretched for nine days, the Commission on Elections (Colemec) has finally proclaimed on Wednesday morning the 12 winners of the Senatorial race.
The results are based on the 167 certificates of canvass.
Leading the senatorial race is reelectionist Senator Cynthia Villar with 25,283,727 votes. On second place is reelectionist Senator Grace Poe (22,029,788 votes), followed by former Special Assistant to the President Christopher “Bong” Go (20,657,702 votes), Pia Cayetano (19,789,019), and former Philippine National Police chief Ronald “Bato” dela Rosa (19,004,225 votes).
Rounding up the magic 12 are reelectionist Senator Sonny Angara (18,161,862 votes), actor Lito Lapid (16,965,464 votes), Ilocos Norte Governor Imee Marcos (15,882,628 votes), former Metropolitan Manila Development Authority Chairman Francis Tolentino (15,510,026 votes), reelectionist Senator Aquilino “Koko” Pimentel (14,668,665 votes), actor Ramon “Bong” Revilla ( 14,624,445 votes), and reelectionist Senator Nancy Binay (14,504,936 votes).
Most of the winners are allies of President Rodrigo Duterte, weakening the opposition bloc in the Senate. But Senate President Vicente Sotto earlier said the chamber will remain independent.
During the proclamation at the Philippine International Convention Center, the administration’s senators did President Rodrigo Duterte’s signature first bump. Poe and Binay refused to follow suit.
When the Congress opens in July, they will join Senators Sotto, Franklin Drilon, Risa Hontiveros, Francis Pangilinan, Leila De Lima, Joel Villanueva, Sherwin Gatchalian, Ralph Recto, Miguel Zubiri, Richard Gordon, Panfilo Lacson, and Manny Pacquiao.

Staff Report

The Filipino Times is the chronicler of stories for, of and by Filipinos all over the world, reaching more than 236 countries in readership. Any interesting story to share? Email us at [email protected]

Related Articles

Back to top button